Home     MS House Video Feed     MS Senate Video Feed    
Six of nine public health district offices are closing

The Department of Health plans to shutter six of its public health district offices by June 30 as part of a massive agency-wide reorganization that it hopes will help the department reconcile a $12 million budget cut.

Currently, much of the administration for the Department of Health is divided between nine public health districts, with each district overseeing the county health offices they serve. The new plan consolidates these nine district offices into three regional offices, composed of a northern, central, and southern region.

The Department of Health has not yet decided where the three new offices will be located, nor has it determined which ones will close.

Daily Journal

Posted May 23, 2017 - 8:05 am

YallPolitics.Com now uses Facebook for comments. Log into Facebook to comment here.

©2005-2017 Jackson New Media, Inc. All rights reserved. Contact us at editor at yallpolitics.com