WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Roger Wicker, R-Miss., and Thad Cochran, R-Miss., today applauded the Trump administration’s choice of five Mississippians to serve on the Farm Service Agency State Committee.

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has named Ted Kendall IV of Bolton as committee chairman, and selected Scott Flowers of Clarksdale, Bobby Moody of Louisville, Henry Reed of Belzoni, and Rita Seward of Jackson County to serve as members.  Cochran and Wicker made recommendations to Secretary Perdue for this panel, which is responsible for carrying out FSA farm programs.

“Our agricultural producers and workers need strong advocates when it comes to administering vital farm programs in our state,” Wicker said.  “These five Mississippians are well-suited for this job, and I join the farming community in support of their service on this committee.”

“These agricultural leaders, who were recommended by their contemporaries and farm organizations, have been tasked with administering programs that are important to advancing agricultural production in Mississippi,” Cochran said.  “I am confident they will meet these responsibilities, and I commend them for their willingness to serve our state.”

The Mississippi FSA State Committee will help administer agricultural conservation, production adjustment, price support, and livestock programs in the state.

State committees are selected by the Agriculture Secretary and serve at the pleasure of the Secretary.