MSGOP announce qualified candidates for 2018 federal elections

The following is a list of those who submitted paperwork to the Mississippi Republican Party by the 5:00 p.m. deadline:

United States Senate

Richard Boyanton
Chris McDaniel
Roger Wicker

United States House of Representatives

District 1:

Trent Kelly

District 2:

No Republicans qualified by the deadline.

District 3:

Sally Doty
Morgan Dunn
Michael Guest
Whit Hughes
Perry Parker
Katherine “Bitzy” Tate

District 4:

Steven Palazzo
E. Brian Rose

Mississippi Democrats announce slate of candidates in 2018 federal elections

Here are the Democratic Party candidates for this year’s Federal elections:

For the United States Senate:

David Baria of Bay St. Louis
Jensen Bohren of Benton
Jerone Garland of Kosciusko
Victor G. Maurice, Jr. of Pass Christian
Omeria Scott of Laurel
Howard Sherman of Meridian

For House District 1:

Randy Wadkins of Oxford

For House District 2:

Bennie G. Thompson of Bolton

For House District 3:

Kevin Michael Aycox of Newton
Michael Ted Evans of Preston

For House District 4:

Jeramey Anderson of Moss Point

Sen. Wicker: Iran should never get its hands on nuclear weapon


CLARION LEDGER – Sherman on Senate run: Sela (Ward) and Mississippi have given me a home

“Sela and Mississippi have given me a home, so I’m excited to apply my experience and what I’ve learned in the private sector to impact the state’s ‘kitchen table’ issues,” Sherman said. “We should have better healthcare. There should be more jobs. Our kids should have reasons to stay here after finishing their schooling, and there needs to be greater opportunity for all.”…

…In a news release, Sherman’s campaign said he has started or helped more than 20 companies “with his most recent focus being the quest to eliminate infections commonly contracted in hospitals located throughout the nation.”

Sherman said he would use his 30 years of business experience and that he has a plan that would attract thousands of jobs to the state, drive down health care cost and improve education.

WDAM – State Representative Michael Evans running for Congress to replace Gregg Harper

Michael Ted Evans, a current state Representative, filed his qualifying papers Thursday to run for the 3rd Congressional District seat that U.S. Rep. Gregg Harper is leaving at the end of his term.

Evans is a retired firefighter who owns and operates a poultry farm in rural Kemper County. He’s represented District 45 which includes parts of Kemper, Lauderdale, Neshoba and Winston counties since 2012. He currently serves on the Agriculture, Energy, Public Utilities and Conservation and Water Resources Committees.

WTOK – Congressional candidate hosts luncheon in Meridian

Morgan Dunn is running as a Republican for Congressman Gregg Harper’s seat. Harper is not seeking re-election.

Dunn told Newscenter 11 she thinks health care, infrastructure, and education are very important topics for rural Mississippi. She says that’s what she would emphasize in Washington.

“The thing is we don’t have a voice in Washington. Rural America is the last thing that they think about, and i hate to say it, but the whole state of Mississippi is rural,” said Dunn.

State Sen. McDaniel campaigns on Coast


WTOK – Omeria Scott running for US Senate

Democratic Rep. Omeria Scott of Laurel filed qualifying papers just before a deadline Thursday. She joins five other Democrats in the race for the Senate seat held by Republican Roger Wicker.

Gov. Bryant talks quality child care with Ivanka Trump

Increasing the availability of quality child care is a critical component of building strong children and strengthening…

Posted by Phil Bryant on Thursday, March 1, 2018

WJTV – Education funding bill dies at Legislature

OSA Issues Demands Against Members of Clarke County Election Commission

On Thursday, March 1, 2018, the Mississippi Office of the State Auditor (OSA) issued a demand against members of the Clarke County Election Commission. Commissioners Dora S. McKenzie, James K. Purvis, Troy A. Dew, Viola W. Davis and William D. Goodman received per diem for working on days when there was not an official meeting of the election commission and the work was never approved for payment by the election commission.

The demands served are in the following amounts: Commissioner McKenzie $3,418.80; Commissioner Purvis, $94.08; Commissioner Dew, $184.80; Commissioner Davis, $381.36; and Commissioner Goodman, $367.92. The listed amounts represent the unauthorized per diem claimed and received by each commissioner, the interest and the cost of recovery.

DAILY JOURNAL – Effort to rewrite MAEP blocked by Senate

Legislation to rewrite the Mississippi Adequate Education Program school funding formula was killed Thursday when senators voted by a 27-21 margin to send the proposal back to the Education Committee.

The surprising vote kills for this session one of the priorities of the legislative leadership.

A disappointed Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves blamed the 19 Democrats in the Senate who all voted to kill the proposal, called the Mississippi Uniform Per Student Funding Formula Act. But in reality, it was eight members of his Republican caucus who determined the fate of the legislation when they joined in the effort to recommit the bill.