The Secretary of State’s Office is releasing $67,452.08 today to 15 counties across the State, and cities and schools within those counties, representing proceeds from recent tax-forfeited property sales.  The amounts are as follows:

  • Adams County—$1,320.99 (2 parcels);
  • Desoto—$426.60 (3);
  • Forrest—$280.82 (1);
  • Harrison—$1,353.03 (3);
  • Holmes—$400.98 (2);
  • Jackson—$678.89 (2);
  • Jefferson Davis—$146.08 (2);
  • Lauderdale—$52,931.57 (130);
  • Lowndes—$310.45 (1);
  • Marion—$492.91 (3);
  • Panola—$262.95 (1);
  • Pearl River—$1,894.66 (9);
  • Pike—$2,480.38 (3);
  • Rankin—$603.35 (1); and
  • Warren—$3,868.42 (4).

“These amounts represent more than dozens of parcels which are now back on the tax rolls in these counties.  We are grateful for the partnerships we have with local government officials who help us get the word out and increase sales to decrease the State’s inventory,” Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann said.

In recent years, successful auctions in Bay St. Louis, Hinds County, Jackson, Leflore County, McComb, Meridian, Pearl River County, Rankin County, Washington County, Waveland, Vicksburg, and Yazoo City have raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Mississippi schools, municipalities, and counties.

Any member of the public may view details about available properties throughout the State, including parcel numbers, legal descriptions, and market value information, on the Secretary of State’s website at  For more information, call the Public Lands Division at (601) 359-5156.

Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann Press Release