The MS Top 50 awards announced today that nominations for the 3rd annual list of the state’s most influential leaders will open Wednesday, October 17th.

For the past two years, the bipartisan selection of Mississippians has celebrated most influential local, state and federal elected and appointed officials; political and government affairs professionals; public policy advocates; economic development professionals; business leaders; media professionals and others.

Nominations will remain open through November 26th.

The award categories are:

  • Elected/Appointed Government Officials
  • Lobbying/Government Relations
  • Business, Culture and Media

Awardees are nominated through an open process. There is no cost to nominate, be nominated or to receive an award. However, one must be nominated to be considered. Nominees will be notified of their nomination immediately, and awardees will be notified of their selection in December.  Awardees will be announced via the MSTop50.comwebsite in January 2019.

Additionally, two individuals will be recognized for “Hall of Fame” status. These are Mississippians who have made lasting contributions to the political, business and public policy landscape. Previous honorees include former US Senator Thad Cochran, former Governor William Winter, Former Governor Haley Barbour and Rep. Steve Holland.

A celebration event and reception to honor the award winners will take place Monday, February 18, 2019 at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson, MS.

In previous years, the event has been a completely sold out and has featured statewide elected officials, members of Congress, state legislators and many of the state’s top executives, lobbyists and opinion leaders.

More information can be found on the MS Top 50 website.

Contribution by Allison Ross, Yellowhammer Multimedia