Now, two of the three current Mississippi Department of Transportation Commissioners will not seek re-election.

Commissioner Mike Tagert made the announcement Tuesday that he will be stepping away from MDOT once his term is up.

“It has been an absolute honor to serve the people of North Mississippi in this capacity,” said Tagert in a statement.

Tagert has been the Northern District Commissioner since he was elected in 2011. Prior to that, he was an administrator of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority.

Two of the three commissioners will be new next year.



Transportation Commissioner Dick Hall has also said he will not be running for re-election.

Hall, who has served as the Central District Commissioner since his appointment by Governor Kirk Fordice in 1999, made the announcement on The Paul Gallo Show Friday morning.



Prior to his service as Commissioner, Hall served 24 years in the Mississippi State Legislature.