Polls opened for special elections in three House of Representatives districts at 7 a.m. Tuesday, March 12, 2019.  The districts and candidates, who must run as independents, include:

  • House District 32 (Leflore County) (formerly held by Rep. Willie Perkins): Troy D. Brown, Sr.; Solomon Curtis Osborne
  • House District 71 (Hinds County) (formerly held by Rep. Adrienne Wooten): Edelia J. Carthan; Ronnie Crudup, Jr.; Stephanie Skipper
  • House District 101 (Lamar County) (formerly held by Rep. Brad Touchstone): Gary L. Crist; Kent McCarty; Steven Utroska; Daniel Waide; Andrew Waites

Polls in the relevant districts close at 7 p.m.  Any voter in line at 7 p.m. is entitled to cast a ballot.

“Every election is important — even a special election,” Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann said.  “We hope all eligible voters in these districts will take a few minutes to visit their polling place.  The only way for your vote not to count is if you do not cast it.”

Other important information includes:

  • Polling Place Location: A polling place locator is available on the Secretary of State’s website at http://www.sos.ms.gov/PollingPlace/Pages/default.aspx.
  • Sample Ballot: A sample ballot is available on the Secretary of State’s website at http://www.sos.ms.gov/Elections-Voting/Documents/HD%202019%20Sample%20Ballot.pdf.
  • Voter Photo ID: Voters are required to show photo identification at the polls.  A voter without an acceptable form of photo identification is entitled to cast an affidavit ballot.  An affidavit ballot may be counted if the voter provides an acceptable form of photo identification to the Circuit Clerk’s Office within five business days after the election.  For more information, visit www.msvoterID.ms.gov.
  • Campaigning: It is unlawful to campaign for any candidate within 150 feet of any entrance to a polling place, unless on private property.
  • Loitering: The polling places should be clear for 30 feet from every entrance of all people except elections officials, voters waiting to vote, or authorized poll watchers.

For more information about State election laws, visit Y’all Vote, www.yallvote.sos.ms.gov, or call the Elections Division Hotline at (601) 576-2550 or 1-800-829-6786.

Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann Press Release