Following a meeting Wednesday with the nation’s Lieutenant Governors at the White House regarding the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), the Republican Lieutenant Governors Association (RLGA) issued a letter today signed by Arkansas Lt. Governor and RLGA Chairman Tim Griffin and 24 other lieutenant governors in support of President Trump’s recently negotiated trade agreement.

“As lieutenant governors, one of our main responsibilities is to promote economic growth, and under the new provisions renegotiated in the USMCA, we believe this agreement will benefit all our states and improve trade conditions for the business community,” the letter states.

The letter includes signatures from lieutenant governors across the country who stand with President Trump’s effort to modernize America’s trade relationships to support the 21st-century economy. The collection of lieutenant governors is urging the passage of the trade deal and cite their willingness to promote and highlight its goals.

Two of the lieutenant governors who signed the letter have either announced or are expected to announce gubernatorial campaigns. Mississippi Lt. Governor Tate Reeves declared his gubernatorial bid at the beginning of January and North Carolina Lt. Governor Dan Forest recently announced the formation of an exploratory committee for his presumed gubernatorial bid in 2020.

Other signees include Alabama Lt. Governor Will Ainsworth, Alaska Lt. Governor Kevin Meyer, Georgia Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan, Florida Lt. Governor Jeanette Nuñez, Idaho Lt. Governor Janice McGeachin, Indiana Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch, Iowa Lt. Governor Adam Gregg, Kentucky Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton, Louisiana Lt. Governor Billy Nungesser, Missouri Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe, Nebraska Lt. Governor Mike Foley, North Dakota Lt. Governor Brent Sanford, Northern Mariana Islands Lt. Governor Arnold Palacios, Ohio Lt. Governor Jon Husted, Oklahoma Lt. Governor Matt Pinnell, Puerto Rico Lt. Governor Luis G. Rivera Marín, South Carolina Lt. Governor Pamela Evette, South Dakota Lt. Governor Larry Rhoden, Tennessee Lt. Governor Randy McNally, Texas Lt. Governor Dan Patrick, Utah Lt. Governor Spencer Cox, and West Virginia Lt. Governor Mitch Carmichael.

The letter can be viewed in full here.

Press Release