UPDATE: A release was sent out by Republican Mark Baker’s campaign including some sheriff’s names that weren’t supposed to be on the list. 

The Daily Journal Reported that both Lee County’s Sheriff Jim Johnson, as well as Jones County Sheriff Alex Hodge have not endorsed any candidates for Attorney General.

Johnson said he was contacted by Baker personally, who took full responsibility for the mistake.

So far, no correction has been issued by Baker’s campaign.

The original press release read: 

Today conservative Republican candidate for Attorney General Mark Baker announced his first round of endorsements from Republican sheriffs all over Mississippi.

“The Attorney General is Mississippi’s chief law enforcement official and earning the trust of Mississippi sheriffs is critical to successfully fighting crime in our communities,” Baker said.  “I am honored to have the support of these seasoned law enforcement professionals.”

“I’ve worked with Mark for years. He’s always had law enforcement’s back. He’s a good man and the right choice for Attorney General,” says Rankin County Sheriff Bryan Bailey.

“As a sheriff, it is critical that we have someone with real world experience in this office, someone who knows the needs of law enforcement and who has a proven record of accomplishment,” adds Madison County Sheriff Randy Tucker.

“When working with Mark, what you see is what you get. He does what he says and says what he does,” says Harrison County Sheriff Troy Peterson. “He’s stood with law enforcement and I stand with him.”

Baker is currently a member of the Mississippi House of Representatives where he has served for 16 years, including the last eight years as Chairman of the House Judiciary A committee, where he championed issues important to Mississippi’s law enforcement community.

Sheriffs endorsing Attorney General Candidate Mark Baker include:  

County Name
Calhoun Greg Pollan
DeSoto Bill Rasco
George Keith Havard
Hancock Ricky Adam
Harrison Troy Peterson
Jones Alex Hodge
Leake Greg Waggoner
Lee Jim H. Johnson
Lincoln Steve Henry Rushing
Madison Randall “Randy” Tucker
Pearl River David Allison
Rankin Bryan Bailey


Press Release

Mark Baker for Attorney General