Today, the Mississippi Transportation Commission (MTC) swore in first-time commissioners Willie Simmons, Central Transportation District, and John Caldwell, Northern Transportation District; along with Southern Transportation Commissioner Tom King, who enters his third term as commissioner.

Commissioner Tom King

The event was held at the Mississippi Department of Transportation’s (MDOT) administration building in Jackson. Speakers included Melinda McGrath, P.E., MDOT Executive Director; Chief Justice Michael K. Randolph, Mississippi Supreme Court; and Judge Latrice Westbrooks, Mississippi Court of Appeals. Watch the full ceremony here.


Commissioner Willie Simmons

The state of Mississippi vests oversight of its transportation resources and operations in a three-member elected commission representing three geographic areas in the state—Northern, Central and Southern district. In accordance with state law, the commissioners have the authority and responsibility for the supervision of all modes of transportation in the state dealing with aeronautics, highways, public transit, ports and rail safety.

Commissioner John Caldwell

Following the ceremony, at its first meeting of 2020, the MTC named Commissioner Tom King, Southern Transportation District, as chairman. The commission meets the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. For more information on the MTC, visit

MDOT Press Release