The Special Mississippi House Election Committee voted unanimously to permanently seat freshman State Rep. Hester Jackson-McCray (HD 40), denying the election challenge presented by former representative Ashley Henley.

Jackson-McCray, a Democrat, won the General Election by 14 votes over Henley, a Republican, in conservative DeSoto County.

Henley appealed to the House claiming voter irregularities which caused her to lose the election, but did not assert any wrongdoing on the part of Jackson-McCray.

The Committee’s recommendation now moves to the full House for consideration.