Chris Howard, of Madison and executive director of the Mississippi Department of Rehabilitation Services, has been re-elected to the Public Employees’ Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) Board of Trustees as one of its two state employee representatives.

Chris Howard

At its June 23 meeting, the Board certified the runoff election results between Howard, who has served as a state employee representative since July 1, 2014, and Misti Munroe,

Mississippi Legislative Budget Office chief revenue officer. Howard’s new six-year term will run from July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2026. He begins his term by transitioning from vice chair to chair of the Board for fiscal year 2020, which begins July 1. He succeeds Dr. Brian Rutledge, University of Mississippi Medical Center chief of staff, as chair.

Dr. Randy McCoy

Dr. Randy McCoy, retired superintendent of Tupelo Public School District and one of two retiree representatives on the Board, was elected by the Board June 23 to serve as

vice chair for fiscal year 2020.

The chair presides at board meetings, appoints members of board committees, and can call special meetings. The vice chair transitions to chair after one year and serves as chair when the current chair is absent.

The 10-member Board includes the state Treasurer, a gubernatorial appointee who is a member of PERS, two PERS retirees, two state employees, and one representative each of public schools and community/junior colleges, Institutions of Higher Learning, counties, and municipalities. With the exception of the state Treasurer and the gubernatorial appointee, board members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

Press Release