From the Clarion Ledger…

No third party candidates remain in the race to become Mississippi’s next governor.

The state Board of Election Commissioners on Friday approved a slate of candidates that will appear on the Nov. 8 ballot.

Gubernatorial candidates William Oatis, an independent, and Shawn O’ Hara of the Reform Party were removed from the list, leaving only Democrat Johnny DuPree and Republican Phil Bryant.

Oatis told the commission he wanted to withdraw for financial reasons, and O’Hara, who filed for governor and treasurer, could run for only one office, and that office is treasurer because that is the form he filed most recently.

Full story at