Inauguration set for Thursday for 7 of 8 Mississippi officials

Seven of Mississippi’s eight statewide elected officials are preparing to start new terms.

A swearing-in ceremony is being held Thursday afternoon for Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves, Attorney General Jim Hood, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, Treasurer Lynn Fitch, Auditor Stacey Pickering, Agriculture Commissioner Cindy Hyde-Smith and Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney.

The ceremony is taking place in the House chamber.