A Banner Year for SEC Quarterbacks

However the SEC has ended up having a banner year for quarterbacks, counter to expectations. The conference currently has five signal callers in the top 25 in passing efficiency, just behind the Big Ten’s six and ahead of the Pac-10’s four. Cam Newton is third, Stephen Garcia is fifth, Ryan Mallett is seventh, Greg McElroy is eighth, and Aaron Murray is 25th. If you extend the arbitrarily chosen limit from 25 to 31, the SEC picks up 31st-ranked Mike Hartline without the Big Ten picking up another one.