Back-to-back for Bama?

If Alabama successfully defends its 2009 SEC championship this season, it will become the conference’s first team to post back-to-back titles since Tennessee won two in a row in 1997 and 1998.
Since the Volunteers’ championship in 1998, every other conference in the NCAA’s Football Bowl Subdivision has had at least two instances where a team has won consecutive championships.