Crowded field in 1st District

By Friday’s 5 p.m. deadline, more than a dozen candidates had submitted qualifying petitions to run for the seat vacated by the late U.S. Rep. Alan Nunnelee who died of brain cancer in early February.

Those qualifying petitions were set to be examined and certified Friday afternoon, with the examination process beginning at 5:30 p.m. in Jackson, according to Marla Treadway, Deputy Circuit Clerk for Elections.

The special election is May 12, and a runoff is June 2…

…According to Mississippi law, candidates run without party labels in special elections.

Those who qualified on Friday are, in alphabetical order, Boyce Adams, Sam Adcock, Nancy Collins, Edward Holliday, Starner Jones, Trent Kelly, Chip Mills, Greg Pirkle, Henry Ross, Daniel Sparks, Mike Tagert, Quentin Whitwell and Walter Zinn.

DeSoto Times