Former state representative and House Minority Leader Bobby Moak was elected the new chairman of the Mississippi Democrat Party today.

Moak replaces Rickey Cole who announced he wouldn’t seek the post earlier this year.

Moak lost his reelection bid in the 2015 state elections.

It was on Moak’s watch as House Minority Leader that House Republicans were able to gain a supermajority in last year’s election.

Earle Banks was elected Executive Vice Chairman of the Party, and Ryan Brown was reelected as Treasurer. Dr. Ruby Funchess was elected Secretary.