Election: Voters face crucial decisions

Mississippi voters have a mixed record on the question of turning out in significant numbers for special elections.

On Monday, Gov. Haley Barbour today set Jan. 11 as the special election date to fill the unexpired terms of vacant posts in the state Senate, House and Transportation Commission. Races on ballots in north and south Mississippi include:

The District 6 state Senate seat in Lee and Pontotoc counties formerly held by Congressman-elect Alan Nunnelee of Tupelo. Nunnelee resigned the post after his election as the 1st District U.S. Representative.

The District 116 House seat in Harrison County formerly held by Congressman-elect Steven Palazzo. Palazzo resigned the seat after his election as 4th District U.S. Representative.

The Northern District Transportation Commission seat formerly held by the late Commissioner Bill Minor of Ashland. The district covers Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster, Winston, and Yalobusha counties. The seat opened Minor died unexpectedly while attending a professional convention in Biloxi on Nov. 1.

Clarion Ledger