Senate OK sought for revamped cosmetology board

Three new members have been appointed to the beleaguered state Board of Cosmetology, and the executive director has resigned.

Only two current members will remain on the board. They are Dot Ennis of Summit and Waylon Garrett of Pearl.

The three new members of the five-member board, if confirmed by the state Senate, will be Glenda Honeycutt of Aberdeen, Bertha “Bert” Johnson of Jackson and Darlene Smith of Grenada.

On Wednesday, a subcommittee of the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee recommended the reappointment of Ennis and the confirmation of the three new members. Garrett already had been recommended for reappointment. All five nominations must go before the Public Health and Welfare Committee and if approved would then go to the full Senate. Their terms would begin Sunday and go to March 28, 2019.

Clarion Ledger