JACKSON – Gov. Phil Bryant declared a State of Emergency today for several of Mississippi counties due to the impacts of winter weather presenting a variety of issues including flooding and freezing rain.

At least 57 Mississippi counties have reported affects from these storms: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Itawamba, Jackson, Jones, Lafayette, Lawrence, Leake, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Madison, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Rankin, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha and Yazoo.

The State of Emergency is an administrative tool, which allows the state to offer support to the areas impacted by this weather event.

“We are taking the threat of severe weather seriously, and we are working to ensure that local officials have the tools they need to respond properly,” Gov. Bryant said.

Any additional counties with damages or impacts due to the ongoing winter weather will also be covered by this State of Emergency

According to the National Weather Service, Mississippi could experience additional affects from this weather system with additional icing and freezing rain expected throughout much of North Mississippi through Tuesday evening.

Mississippi Emergency Management Agency officials are working closely with local emergency managers to identify any unmet needs counties and communities have in impacted areas in the state.

Click here to view the Emergency Declaration.


Gov. Phil Bryant News Release