**RUNOFF NOTE – All of this is for naught if you don’t go vote. With record turnout in the primary, there should be record turnout again in the runoff. Though we at YP certainly have our preferences, we don’t endorse candidates. All we would tell you is that if you are eligible, go vote. You owe it to yourself and the process.

One endorsement is usually not enough to move the needle in a campaign. However, when taken in totality, endorsements often provide a very clear picture of where the battle lines are drawn in a contested race. There is no clearer example of that than the race between Thad Cochran and Chris McDaniel.

From our Senate 2014 category and the campaign websites, we have tried to collect as exhaustive a list as possible to show you who’s backing who. If we’ve missed any meaningful individual or group endorsement, it’s only by mistake and we will try to correct it. Feel free to add meaningful endorsements with links in the comment section.

Here goes:

Thad Cochran endorsements


Sun Herald
Neshoba Democrat
Madison County Journal
Commercial Dispatch + one for Runoff
Greenwood Commonwealth
Kemper County Messenger

National Leaders and Organizations:

National Right to Life
National Rifle Association
US Chamber of Commerce

Mississippi Organizations:

Mississippi Realtors
Mississippi Manufacturers Association
Home Builders Association of Mississippi
Hattiesburg Young Business Leaders

Mississippi Elected Officials:

Governor Phil Bryant
Lt. Governor Tate Reeves
Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann
State Auditor Stacey Pickering
Agriculture Commissioner Cindy Hyde-Smith
Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney
Treasurer Lynn Fitch
Senator Roger Wicker
Congressman Alan Nunnelee
Congressman Gregg Harper
Congressman Steven Palazzo
Sen Joey Fillingane
Gulfport Mayor Billy Hewes
Biloxi Mayor A.J. Holloway
Pass Christian Mayor Chipper McDermott
Hernando Mayor Chip Johnson + the other four mayors in Desoto County
Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins-Butler
Ridgeland Mayor Gene McGee
Pearl Mayor Brad Rogers
+ almost every elected official in Rankin County (Republican stronghold)


Trent Lott
Haley Barbour
Andy Taggart
Brett Favre
Dave Dennis
Gene Taylor
John McCain

Chris McDaniel endorsements


National Leaders and Organizations

Rick Santorum
Tony Perkins
Gary Bauer
Laura Ingraham
Mark Levin
Glenn Beck
Sarah Palin
Phyllis Schlafly
American Conservative Union
Club for Growth
Citizens United
Freedom Works
Gun Owners of America
Madison Project
National Association for Gun Rights
Senate Conservatives Fund
Tea Party Express
Tea Party Patriots’ citizens fund
Young Americans for Liberty

Mississippi Organizations

Central Mississippi Tea Party
Gulf Coast Tea Party
Hattiesburg Tea Party
Leflore/Carroll Tea Party
Meridian Tea Party
Pearl River Patriots
South Mississippi Tea Party
The Mississippi Tea Party
Tupelo Tea Party
Vicksburg Tea Party

Mississippi Elected Officials

Senator Philip Gandy – DF43 (R- Waynesboro)
Senator Angela Hill – SD40 (R- Picayune)
Senator Billy Hudson – SD45
Michael Kelly Police Chief of Seminary
Mayor Hal Marx Mayor of Petal
Senator Chris Massey- SD 1 (R- Nesbit)
Senator David Parker – SD19 (R- Olive Branch)
Senator Tony Smith – SD47 (R-Picayune)
Senator Melanie Sojourner – SD37 (R-Natchez)
Senator Michael Watson – SD51 (R-Pascagoula)
Poplarville Mayor Brad Necaise


Lee Yancey Former State Senator
John Switzer, Liberty Professor
Jeppie Barbour
Chuck Woolery
Wayne Allen Root
Lars Larsen
Ron Paul

Again, with your help, we will update this list on any meaningful endorsements we have missed.

Go vote on Tuesday June 24.