The State Board of Election Commissioners met today (Tuesday, January 8, 2013) to approve the candidates for the vacant Senate District 28 Special Election. Senate District 28 is located in Hinds County.

The following candidates were approved to be placed on the ballot for SD 28:

Cindy Ayers-Elliot
Tamarra Grace Butler
Marshand Crisler
Sollie B. Norwood
Antonio Porter
James “Jimmy” Stewart
Kathy L. Sykes
Tommy L. Wallace, II
Cassandra Welchlin

The special election will be held Tuesday, February 5, 2013. If no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast in the special election, a runoff will be held on Tuesday, February 26, 2013.

Please note, candidates in a special election do not claim party affiliation. Therefore, no party affiliation will be listed on the special election ballot.

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, January 08, 2013
Contact: Pamela Weaver, Director of Communications for SOS Delbert Hoseman