Today, the Mississippi Top50 announced the winners in the Elected and Appointed Officials category.

In its inaugural year, the MSTop50 Award recognizes the top 50 most influential Mississippians in the areas of elective/appointed government service, lobbying and government relations and business, media and culture. Additionally, there will be two Hall of Fame honorees announced in early November.

The 2016 MSTop50 awardees in the Elective/Appointed Government Officials categories are (in alphabetical order):

David Baria
Phil Bryant
Buck Clarke
George Flaggs
Andy Gipson
Philip Gunn
Gregg Harper
Keith Heard
Billy Hewes
Jim Hood
Delbert Hosemann
Glenn McCullough, Jr.
Brandon Presley
Carlton Reeves
Tate Reeves
Greg Snowden
Joey Songy
Bennie Thompson
Nathan Wells
Roger Wicker

The remaining 30 winners from the other categories will be named on October 26, 2016.

The MSTop50 awards are sponsored by Y’all Politics and Supertalk. The Hall of Fame awards are sponsored by Capitol Resources and Tower Loan.

There will be an event on November 9, 2016, at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson, Mississippi honoring the awardees. More information on the event can be found the the MSTop50 website.