Five candidates qualify to run for Flaggs’ old House seat

Five people have qualified to run in a special election to succeed Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Jr. in the Mississippi House of Representatives.

The election is Nov. 5. A runoff, if needed, will be Nov. 26.

The Vicksburg Post reports that the candidates are Marie Thompson, Oscar Denton, Andrew W. Harrell, Joseph E. Williams and Christopher Green.

Flaggs retired from his seat June 30 and was sworn in as mayor the following day.

The winner will fill the 2½ years remaining on the term.