Five qualify for District 82 seat

Five candidates have qualified for the House District 82 seat that became vacant with the recent death of State Rep. Charles L. Young Sr.

Robert L. Barfield Sr., Ward 5 Councilman John C. Harris, Roscoe Jones Sr., Wilbert L. Jones and Bill Marcy were the qualifiers by the noon deadline on Saturday, according to Lauderdale County Circuit Clerk Donna Jill Johnson. The special election is set for June 9; if a runoff is necessary, it will be held June 30. The ballot is nonpartisan.

Meridian Star

hattip Rep. Greg Snowden