Georgia, LSU, Florida among SEC football teams with a shot at championship trifecta

If Georgia is as good as the football coaches believe, the Southeastern Conference could have a chance at quite a trifecta this season — three straight national championships won by three different teams.

The coaches voted the Bulldogs No. 1 in the first poll. If they win the title, they would follow Florida and LSU as champions.
The SEC came close to a three-peat from 1957-59, with Auburn winning in ’57 and LSU in ’58, but Syracuse won the national crown the next year, beating out Ole Miss.
That was also the start of the league’s best run at or near the top, using the Associated Press final poll as a gauge.
From 1956-1967, Alabama won three titles and Auburn and LSU each won one. Ole Miss and Tennessee each finished second twice during that span and the league had 20 top-five finishes in all.
Already considered by most preseason magazines the toughest conference in the country, the SEC could slam its stamp on that claim for a while should Georgia or another of its teams capture the national championship again this season.