Gov. Bryant Sets Special Election Date for House Districts 5, 55 and 110

JACKSON- Gov. Phil Bryant today issued Writs of Election, setting Nov. 5 as the special election date to fill the House of Representative seats left vacant in districts 5, 55 and 110.

All three of the former state representatives were elected as mayors: Kelvin Buck of Holly Springs (from District 5); George Flaggs of Vicksburg (District 55); and Billy Broomfield of Moss Point (District 110).

The qualifying deadline for candidates is Oct. 7.

If no candidate receives a majority of votes cast in any of the special elections, a runoff election will be held Nov. 26.