Bryant appoints 11 policy committees to help build upcoming policy agenda

JACKSON – Governor-elect Phil Bryant announced today the creation of 11 policy committees to provide input on the key issues facing Mississippi, and to assist in building core policy agenda items for the upcoming legislative session in January.

“I am pleased to have so many experts from all over the state of Mississippi on these policy committees to help build an agenda for the upcoming legislative session,” Gov-elect Phil Bryant said. “I am confident that the experience and dedication everyone collectively brings to the committees will help make the legislative session in January very productive.”

The policy committee structure will be chaired by Mark Garriga, former Chief of Staff for Governor Kirk Fordice, and each of the 11 committees will be led by a chair including experts from all across Mississippi from the public, private and nonprofit sectors.

The Chairs of the policy committees are:

• Agriculture/Forestry – Cindy Hyde-Smith, State Senator and Ag Commissioner-elect ;
• Budget – Dr. John Kelly, City Administrator, City of Gulfport;
• Education – Charles McClelland, Chairman, State Board of Education;
• Energy – David Gates, President, Atmos Mississippi;
• Government Accountability – Hoopy Stringer, Former Mississippi Dept. of Finance and Administration Executive Director;
• Health Care – Dr. Randy Easterling, President, Mississippi State Medical Association;
• Information Technology – John Hairston, CEO and Chief Operating Officer of Hancock Bank;
• Jobs – Glenn McCullough, Chairman of Advance Mississippi, Former Director of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA);
• Public Safety – Toby Trowbridge, Sheriff, Madison County;
• Regulatory – Ron Aldridge, Executive Director, Mississippi National Federation of Independent Businesses;
• Tourism – Billy Hewes, Senate Pro-Tem, State Senator.

“The Governor-elect has put together a knowledgeable and well-respected team of experts to help guide his policy agenda for his term in office,” Jim Herring said, Chairman of Phil Bryant’s Transition. “These policy committees will review Governor-elect Bryant’s proposals and policies as well as new ideas, and they will make recommendations about strategies to make them successful.”

The 11 policy committees will meet together at a summit to be held in Jackson on December 15, 2011. For more information, visit

Governor-elect Phil Bryant Press Release