State Senate, House, Transportation Commissioner on ballots

JACKSON – Gov. Haley Barbour today set a Jan. 11, 2011, special election date to fill the unexpired terms of vacant posts in the State Senate, House and Transportation Commission.

Races on ballots in north and south Mississippi include:
• Senate District 6 seat in Lee and Pontotoc Counties. Alan Nunnelee resigned the position after his election as First District Congressman.
• House District 116 in Harrison County. Steven Palazzo resigned the seat after his election as Fourth District Congressman.
• Northern District Transportation Commissioner covering Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster, Winston, and Yalobusha counties. The seat opened when Northern District Transportation Commissioner Bill Minor died Nov. 1.

The qualifying deadline for the elections is Dec. 12. If a run-off is necessary, it will be Feb. 1, 2011. The winner will serve the remainder of the office’s term, through the end of 2011. The positions will be on the ballot again in 2011 as part of the regular state election cycle.

Governor Haley Barbour Press Release