City Council unable to select new election commission

City Council members approved two candidates for the Hattiesburg Election Commission and rejected three others this evening at a special meeting.

The three rejected candidates – Daisy Lee Wade, Mary Bourne and Nina Arlington Smith – were members of the previous election commission.

The two news members are Joe Kinnan and Turner Jones.

Mayor Johnny DuPree approached all five members of the previous commission to serve again on the basis that they “did nothing wrong” concerning the controversial June 4 mayoral election.

Hattiesburg American