Nearly 50 Mississippi Mayors Endorse Hillary Clinton

Jackson, MS – Today, less than one week before the March 8 primary, nearly 50 mayors from across Mississippi are announcing their support of Hillary Clinton in the Democratic presidential race. As chief executives of their cities, these mayors know what it takes to deliver results, and they trust Clinton to get the job done for their constituents, especially in underserved communities. These mayors endorsed Clinton citing her focus on local issues and support of municipal investment and growth, as well has her agenda to break down racial, social and economic barriers that hold Mississippi families back.

Jackson Mayor Tony Yarber: “Hillary Clinton knows how to make it happen. As President, she will give special and needed attention to cities – particularly minority-led cities – and the issues that plague us. She is committed to pushing for creative infrastructure investments and to building on the progress President Obama has made. In my mind, she is the only candidate who can pragmatically achieve important gains for families and communities, and it’s why I’m proud to support her candidacy.”

Meridian Mayor Percy Bland: “I am supporting Hillary Clinton because she knows the issues that have the most impact on Mississippi families. She worked tirelessly in her early years for the Children’s Defense Fund, and has been committed to affordable health care and free community college education. She has been a champion for the rights of the underserved communities, and as President I know she will give each child the opportunity to live up to their God given talents.”

Ocean Springs Mayor Connie Moran: “Hillary Clinton’s strong support for education and healthcare for all families regardless of race or zip code is why I support her. Hillary Clinton has a progressive record of standing up for the people and our needs, and I’m excited to stand behind her as she takes actions to make America better. ”

Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs: “Hillary Clinton has the experience to make a real difference for Mississippi families. Her proven leadership will help our community in education, jobs, income inequality, and criminal justice reform. I stand behind her as she fights for progress.”

Hattiesburg Mayor Johnny Dupree: “As a mayor, I know how important it is to have someone in the White House that will understand the struggles that small cities and municipalities face every day. From education to health care, Hillary Clinton is committed to underserved communities and small towns, and that’s why I stand behind her. I’m excited to join the team of grassroots supporters who know that Hillary Clinton is the experienced choice for President.”

Greenville Mayor Errick Simmons: “Hillary Clinton is working everyday to tear down the economic, racial, and social barriers that are holding our communities back. She fully understands how the federal government can become an economic catalyst to local governments by maximizing federal investments with local economic development plans. She has spent the last 40 years fighting for racial and social justice, and I know she will spend the next 8 years doing the same.”

List of Supportive Mayors:

Mayor of Aberdeen, Cecil Bell

Mayor of Belzoni, Lenora Sutton

Mayor of Canton, Arnel D. Bolden

Mayor of Charleston, Sedrick Smith

Mayor of Clarksdale, Bill Luckett

Mayor of Cleveland, Billy Nowell

Mayor of Columbus, Robert E. Smith, Sr.

Mayor of Drew, Jeffrey Kilpatrick

Mayor of Durant, Tasha Davis

Mayor of Fayette, Rogers W. King

Mayor of Greenville, Errick Simmons

Mayor of Hattiesburg, Johnny L. DuPree

Mayor of Hazlehurst, Henry Banks, Sr.

Mayor of Jackson, Tony Yarber

Mayor of Lexington, Clint Cobbins

Mayor of Meridian, Percy Bland

Mayor of Okolona, Louise F. Cole

Mayor of Philadelphia, James A. Young

Mayor of Port Gibson, Fred Reeves

Mayor of Shelby, Dan Harris, Jr.

Mayor of Vicksburg, George Flaggs, Jr.

Mayor of Yazoo City, Daine Delware

Mayor of Alligator, Tommy Brown

Mayor of Benoit, Calvin E. Ward

Mayor of Cary, Sylvia Pepper

Mayor of Crowder, Stephen W. Stanton

Mayor of Doddsville, David Ruffin

Mayor of Eden, Lekisha Thomas Hogan

Mayor of Edwards, Marcus Wallace

Mayor of Friars Point, Catherine Miller

Mayor of Glendora, Johnny B. Thomas

Mayor of Gloster, Leroy Billy Johnson

Mayor of Isola, Bobbie Miller

Mayor of Itta Bena, Thelma Collins

Mayor of Lambert, Joe Smith

Mayor of Magnolia, Anthony Witherspoon

Mayor of Mound Bayou, Darryl Johnson

Mayor of Mount Olive, Robert McNair

Mayor of Ocean Springs, Connie Moran

Mayor of Pace, Levon Jackson, Sr.

Mayor of Potts Camp, Mary Houston

Mayor of Renova, Harvey Green

Mayor of Roxie, Michael Wright

Mayor of Shuqualak, Velma H. Jenkins

Mayor of Summit, Percy Robinson

Mayor of Starkville, Parker Wiseman

Mayor of Tchula, Zula Patterson

Mayor of Tupelo, Jason Shelton

Mayor of Tutwiler, Nichole Harris

Mayor of Winstonville, Henry Perkins, Jr.

Mayor of Rosedale, Carey Esties