Jackson County mayors, officials set for White House meetings

PASCAGOULA, Mississippi — The mayors of Jackson County’s four municipalities, along with several other local officials, will travel to Washington, D.C., later this month for a series of meetings they hope will result in funding for a variety of projects.

Pascagoula Mayor Dane Maxwell serves on the White House political affairs team and was already slated to travel to Washington this month when he invited his fellow mayors to join him.

“We were having some discussions about doing some things for Pascagoula and I felt like it was a great opportunity to include the other mayors, the supervisors and Jackson County’s economic development group,” Maxwell said.

In addition to Ocean Springs Mayor Shea Dobson, Gautier Mayor Phil Torjusen and Moss Point Mayor Mario King, Jackson County supervisor Troy Ross will also make the trip.