Judge appointed to hear Wilkinson Co. election dispute

Circuit Clerk Mon Cree Allen, who lost his re-election bid, filed a complaint in circuit court contesting the results. Allen was one of three incumbents who lost their elections following a Sept. 6 hearing before the local Democratic executive committee about four contested elections.

A majority of the Democratic executive committee voted to throw out all paper ballots cast in the Aug. 7 primary because of alleged irregularities and to accept the final primary totals from the electronic voting machines. Committee members declared Lynn Delaney the winner in the circuit clerk’s race, Jessie W. Stewart winner in the sheriff’s race and Kirk Smith winner in a supervisor’s race.

Allen, Sheriff Reginald “Pip” Jackson and Supervisor Richard Hollins all were trailing their challengers when polls closed Aug. 7. They won re-election when absentee and other paper ballots were counted.

Clarion Ledger