AGs back Obama’s Consumer Financial Protection Agency

“Any state attorney general may bring a civil action in the name of such state, as parens patriae on behalf of natural persons residing in such state, in any district court of the United States or state court having jurisdiction of the defendant, to secure monetary or equitable relief for violation of any provisions…” it says.

The attorneys general who signed their names to the letter are: Arizona’s Terry Goddard, California’s Jerry Brown, Connecticut’s Richard Blumenthal, Bennett, Illinois’ Lisa Madigan, Iowa’s Tom Miller, Louisiana’s Buddy Caldwell, Maine’s Janet Mills, Massachusetts’ Martha Coakley, Minnesota’s Lori Swanson, Minnesota’s Jim Hood, Missouri’s Chris Koster, Montana’s Steve Bullock, Nevada’s Catherine Cortez Masto, New Jersey’s Anne Milgram, New Mexico’s Gary King, North Carolina’s Roy Cooper, Ohio’s Richard Cordray, Oklahoma’s Drew Edmondson, Oregon’s John Kroger, Tennessee’s Robert Cooper, Vermont’s William Sorrell and West Virginia’s Darrell McGraw.

Guam Attorney General Alicia Limtiaco also joined in the letter.

Legal Newsline