Local Democratic delegate, alternate headed to national convention for ‘glitter and glory’

The Mississippi delegate list for this week’s convention includes former Gov. Ray Mabus, Attorney General Jim Hood and Mississippi’s three Democratic congressmen: Bennie Thompson, Gene Taylor and Travis Childers. Thompson is the delegation’s chairman.

Also attending will be 2007 state insurance commissioner candidate Gary Anderson, former U.S. congressman Wayne Dowdy, who just ended a stint as state party chairman, and several state legislators.

New state Democratic Party Chairman Jamie Franks also plans to attend even though he isn’t an official delegate or alternate.

“This is a great way for Democrats from all over Mississippi and this nation to celebrate who we are, focus on issues that matter to everyone and begin the final weeks of a long presidential campaign that no doubt will see our party victorious,” Franks said in a statement issued by the party.

Commercial Dispatch