Mississippi president electors are committed to Trump

Former state GOP chairman Brad White of Braxton was originally chosen as an elector, but said he can’t serve because he works for a federal official. White recently became chief of staff for Sen. Thad Cochran.

The other five electors will choose a sixth when they meet Monday at the state Capitol.

Four of the Mississippi electors told the Associated Press they are firmly committed to Trump. They are Ann Herbert, 81, of Lucedale, a retired reporter for The Mississippi Press newspaper and member of the state Republican executive committee; Joe Frank Sanderson Jr., 69, of Laurel, chairman and CEO of poultry company Sanderson Farms; J. Kelley Williams, 82, of Jackson, retired chairman and president of chemical company First Mississippi Corp.; and Wirt A. Yerger Jr., 86, of Jackson, a retired insurance broker who was state GOP chairman from 1956-66.

One elector – William G. Yates Jr. of Philadelphia, chairman of Yates Construction – declined to answer questions from the AP, but records show he has given tens of thousands of dollars to Republican candidates over the years.

Daily Journal