GOPAC announces 2016 Class of Emerging Leaders

Arlington, VA (April 13, 2016) – Today, GOPAC announced its 2016 Class of Emerging Leaders, a list of promising legislators selected for their potential and ability to impact their state and the Republican Party at the leadership level.

“Leaders who can successfully promote conservative principles and ideas are essential to advancing limited, effective government. Our 2016 Class of Emerging Leaders exemplifies the promising state lawmakers who will lead in their legislative chamber and/or run for higher office. Their inclusion in our programs will provide them with guidance and support to be effective legislative and political leaders,” said GOPAC Chairman David Avella.

The Emerging Leaders Program is a yearlong initiative to coach and develop state legislators from across the country on how to be effective legislative leaders. This year’s class will begin their involvement at the 6th Annual Emerging Leaders Summit, which takes place from June 20th to 23th in Nashville, Tennessee. The Summit gives participants the opportunity to learn from policy experts, veteran lawmakers, communications professionals and seasoned political strategists as well as each other. These leaders return to their states better equipped to advance the ideas they are championing and prepare for the rigors of campaigning for higher office. To be selected, an Emerging Leader must be nominated by a member of the GOPAC’s Legislative Leaders Advisory Board or a legislative leader in their state.

GOPAC’s 2016 Class of Emerging Leaders:

Senate Majority Whip Gayle Manning (OH)
Senate Minority Whip Steve Hershey (MD)
Associate Speaker Pro Tempore Laura Cox (MI)
Senate Majority Caucus Vice-Chair AJ Griffin (OK)
Senator Kimberly Yee (AZ)
Senator Michael Williams (GA)
Senator Stephen West (KY)
Senator Fred Akshar (NY)
Senator Ann Millner (UT)
Senator Siobhan Dunnavant (VA)
Senator Devin LeMahieu (WI)
Representative Darin Mitchell (AZ)
Representative Paul Lundeen (CO)
Representative Chris Sprowls (FL)
Representative Cory Wilson (MS)
Assemblyman Chris Edwards (NV)
Representative Keith Ammon (NH)
Representative Jim Smith (NM)
Assemblywoman Nicole Malliotakis (NY)
Representative Jon Hardister (NC)
Representative Robert McColley (OH)
Representative Neal Collins (SC)
Senator John Stevens (TN)
Representative Four Price (TX)
Delegate Jill Upson (WV)
Representative Mary Czaja (WI)