Mississippi Senate confirms dozens of nominees

The Mississippi Senate has confirmed dozens of nominees to serve on boards and lead government agencies.

Among those approved Wednesday are all five Parole Board members, including the new chairman, former Hinds County Sheriff Malcolm McMillin.

Confirmed to the state Board of Education are John Kelly of Gulfport, Richard Morrison of Brandon and Simon Weir of Hernando.

Those approved the College Board are Karen Cummins of Southaven, Dr. Ford Dye of Oxford, Hal Parker of Bolton and Shane Hooper of Saltillo.