Secretary Hosemann to Chair National Committee on Voter Participation

National Association of Secretaries of State announces appointments today

Jackson, Miss.— With the successful implementation of Voter ID in the State of Mississippi, Secretary Hosemann has been asked to co-chair the Standing Committee on Voter Participation for the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS).

“Mississippi was the only state in recent years to implement voter ID without any federal lawsuits filed by the Department of Justice,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. “We implemented a statewide campaign to educate our voters on the new requirement, and the proof is in the pudding. Less than one-percent of Mississippi voters lacked photo ID on Election Day and now, other states are calling for our recipe.”

“We are grateful to Secretary Hosemann for agreeing to lead the NASS Voter Participation Committee during a very busy midterm election cycle,” remarked NASS President and Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown, who appointed Hosemann and Missouri Secretary of State Jason Kander to co-chair the body. “He has demonstrated a clear commitment to voter engagement in his home state, and we look forward to discussing the many innovative and cost-effective ways in which states are making a difference on November 4 and beyond.”

Each NASS committee has bipartisan leadership, consisting of two appointed co-chairs.

The Voter Participation Committee identifies state strategies for increasing and/or enhancing voter participation levels, providing a forum for members to share innovative practices on voter education and outreach, and serving as a clearinghouse for information on voter participation and civics education programs.

About NASS: Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the oldest nonpartisan, professional association of public officials in the United States. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.