Dept. of Health district reorganization announced

Currently, organized into nine public health districts, the agency will shift to a three-region model effective July 1.  Regional offices will be located in Tupelo, Jackson, and Biloxi.

“By closing two-thirds of our district offices, we’re immediately saving $1.5 million in administrative overhead,” said MSDH State Health Officer Dr. Mary Currier. “We have reduced district level leadership and our overall agency workforce through retirements, resignations and reassignments. We have also realigned federal funds to support our clinic and district operations; therefore no layoffs within county clinics and district offices are anticipated at this time.”

At the same time, the supervision of many county-level programs – immunizations, tuberculosis control, epidemiology, disease intervention, and emergency preparedness – will be centralized to relieve some of the burden in the field.