Governor Bryant Signs Emergency Declaration for Claiborne and Leflore County School Districts

JACKSON—Gov. Phil Bryant today declared a state of emergency exists in the Claiborne County School District and in the Leflore County School District, authorizing the state Department of Education to take immediate corrective action.

The governor’s proclamation is in response to resolutions adopted by the Mississippi Board of Education at its Sept. 13, 2013, meeting, requesting a State of Emergency be declared for each district pursuant to state law.

The Commission on School Accreditation and the State Board of Education have found that an extreme emergency exists in each district, jeopardizing the safety, security and educational interests of students.

Leflore County State of Emergency:

Claiborne County State of Emergency:

Gov. Phil Bryant