Ten School Districts Face Consolidation

The Senate Education Committee voted Thursday to abolish Coahoma County Agricultural High School and the Lumberton school district. Lumberton’s territory would be split between the Poplarville and Lamar County school districts.

The committee also voted to merge the Durant and Holmes County school districts; the Houston, Chickasaw County and Okolona school districts; and the Carroll County, Montgomery County and Winona school districts.

The House Education Committee has also passed a bill to merge Durant and Holmes County and is considering a bill to merge Leflore County and Greenwood.