JACKSON- Today the Mississippi Republican Party welcomed several former Democrat elected officials to the Republican Party at a news conference held at the State Republican Party headquarters in Jackson. Several Republican elected officials were on hand including Senator Roger Wicker, Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves, House Speaker Philip Gunn, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, Central District Public Service Commissioner Lynn Posey, as well as members of the state legislature.

“I would like to welcome these fine public servants to the Republican Party,” Chairman Nosef stated. “They have realized what many other former Democrats have learned before them- there is no longer a place in the Mississippi Democratic Party for a conservative Democrat.”

The following Democrats announced that they are switching parties:

Jones County Justice Court Judge David Lyons
Jones County Constable Mitch Sumrall
Leake County Sheriff Greg Waggoner
Leake County Coroner Randolph Scott
Leake County Supervisor Tony Smith
Leake County Justice Court Judge Ken Adcock
Newton County Sheriff Jackie Knight
“These elected officials are great additions to the Mississippi Republican Party,” Governor Phil Bryant said. “We are committed to winning elections at every level and are glad to welcome conservative Democrats in Mississippi who can no longer support the liberal policies of Barack Obama and the national Democrat Party.”

Since Nancy Pelosi and Barack Obama have taken over the national Democrat party, more than 50 Democrats in Mississippi have joined the Republican Party.


Mississippi Republican Party
415 Yazoo Street
Jackson, MS 39201