State law requires cities to submit their certified election results to the Secretary of State’s Office within five (5) days of the 2013 General Election. The deadline for cities to submit their certified results to the Secretary of State’s office was Tuesday, June 11, 2013.

As of the time of this release, forty-seven (47) cities have not submitted their certified election results to the Secretary of State’s Office.

“To promote open and public transparency, it is imperative cities timely file their certified election results with the Secretary of State’s Office,” says Secretary Hosemann. “The city and the public have a right to know the final election results, and the city should provide it in a timely fashion.”

Certifying election results in a municipal election is a duty of the municipal election commission.

Mississippi Code Ann. §23-15-611 requires the Secretary of State’s Office to issue a show cause order to cities who fail to timely file their certified results. Once the show cause order has been issued, cities then have five (5) additional working days to submit their results. The Secretary of State’s Office may petition a court to compel the municipal election commissioners to comply.

Please click the following link for a copy of the show cause order:

The following cities have failed to timely file their 2013 General Election results with the Secretary of State’s office:

Abbeville (Lafayette County)
Baldwyn (Lee And Prentiss Counties)
Belmont (Tishomingo County)
Benoit (Bolivar County)
Big Creek (Calhoun County)
Chunky (Newton County)
Cleveland (Bolivar County)
Courtland (Panola County)
Crenshaw (Panola & Quitman Counties)
Crowder (Panola And Quitman Counties)
Dumas (Tippah County)
Durant (Holmes County)
Ecru (Pontotoc County)
Eden (Yazoo County)
Falcon (Quitman County)
Falkner (Tippah County)
Gautier (Jackson County)
Glen (Alcorn County)
Glendora (Tallahatchie County)
Hatley (Monroe County)
Hazlehurst (Copiah County)
Heidelberg (Jasper County)
Indianola (Sunflower County)
Jonestown (Coahoma County)
Jumpertown (Prentiss County)
Lexington (Holmes County)
Lumberton (Lamar And Pearl River
Lyon (Coahoma County)
Maben (Oktibbeha And Webster Counties)
Mize (Smith County)
Montrose (Jasper County)
New Houlka (Chickasaw County)
Ocean Springs (Jackson County)
Olive Branch (Desoto County)
Oxford (Lafayette County)
Pace (Bolivar County)
Schlater (Leflore County)
Shubuta (Clarke County)
Silver City (Humphreys County)
Slate Springs (Calhoun County)
Toccopola (Pontotoc County)
Tremont (Itawamba County)
Vaiden (Carroll County)
Vardaman (Calhoun County)
Walnut (Tippah County)
Waynesboro (Wayne County)
Weir (Choctaw County)

Secretary of State’s Office