6 new judge posts on Nov 3. ballot

Judicial candidates run without party labels, and the six new judges will take office Jan. 1 to serve abbreviated, three-year terms. Starting with the next regularly scheduled judicial elections in 2019, the judges in the new posts will serve regular, four-year terms.

House Bill 703 provides for one new judge each in the:

— 4th Chancery District in Amite, Franklin, Pike and Walthall counties.

— 11th Chancery District in Holmes, Leake, Madison and Yazoo counties.

— 20th Chancery District in Rankin County.

— 12th Circuit District in Forrest and Perry counties.

—13th Circuit District in Covington, Jasper, Simpson, and Smith.

— 15th Circuit District in Jefferson Davis, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion and Pearl River counties.

— 20th Circuit District in Madison and Rankin counties….

…Currently, Mississippi has 49 chancery judges in 20 districts. That moves up to 52 judges in the same number of districts.