Non-BCS starting to accumulate bowl eligible teams

Bowl eligibility is starting to come in waves for the teams of the non-BCS.
If you check out the college football standings page on, there are little stars by several teams denoting bowl eligibility. Currently, six non-BCS teams are bowl eligible — Utah, BYU, TCU, Tulsa, Ball State, and Western Michigan — and Boise State is the only team with five wins. The six teams are one fewer than the bowl eligible teams in the BCS conferences.

It’s amazing, after the start several teams had in Conference USA, that Tulsa is the only team with bowl eligibility and teams such as East Carolina and Rice are still three wins away from that illustrious sixth win. Tulsa is the only team in the conference above .500 and the only team with more than three wins.