Numbers game suggests Brian Kelly will win a national title at Notre Dame

The magic number is 23, according to Blue and Gold Illustrated.

“It started with Knute Rockne in 1918,” the magazine wrote. “Twenty-three years later (1941) it was Frank Leahy who took the reins, and then 23 years after that (1964), it was Ara Parseghian. Twenty-three years later (1987), Lou Holtz was in the process of building a champion, even though he was hired in 1986. But even Halley’s Comet is off a year one way or the other from its scheduled 76-year appearances, so we’ll excuse that.

“Now, 23 years after 1987, is it Brian Kelly’s turn to join this elite club?”