BRIAN PERRY / 2016 Legislature

Interstate 20 cuts through central Mississippi and the state capital of Jackson, running through six counties westward from Alabama through Lauderdale, Newton, Scott, Rankin, Hinds and Warren then into Louisiana. The top four legislative leaders come from these counties with Reeves in Rankin, Gunn in Hinds, Burton in Newton and Snowden from Lauderdale. But much of the legislative power rests with committee chairmen who will be scattered across the state.

Madison County Journal