PERRY’s 2010’s political feast! Something for everyone

Mississippians engage democracy like meals: we like our elections large, frequent, and usually go back for seconds. We conduct elections every year in Mississippi. We elected municipal officers this year; will elect congressional and judicial candidates next year; and the following year we have our statewide and county elections.

Next year, all four Mississippi congressional seats will be on the ballot as well as one state Supreme Court justice and five justices from the Mississippi Court of Appeals. Chancery, circuit, and county judges will also be on the ballot.

The qualifying deadline for Congress is March 1 and Mississippi’s First Congressional District appears to be the main course.

First term U.S. Rep. Travis Childers won this seat in a special election last year and held it in the general election. Republican state Sen. Alan Nunnelee of Tupelo is the front runner to challenge Childers, although a number of other GOP names are circulating.

While they may pull challengers, I expect Second District Congressman Bennie Thompson of Bolton, Third District Congressman Gregg Harper of Pearl and Fourth District Congressman Gene Taylor of Bay St. Louis to all seek and be elected to another term.

Republican Joe Tegerdine of Petal has already announced his intention to challenge Taylor, the entrenched and popular maverick from the Coast.

Judicial candidates face a May 7 qualifying deadline.

Neshoba Democrat